FOCUS T25 BETA WEEK 3 – COMPLETED

Woo hoo! Getting there! I have 6 weeks left…  Cannot wait to see the difference, I will be uploading my photos when done. Now onto the week. I have changed my workout week from starting on Monday’s to starting on Saturday’s.  This ensures I workout over the weekend, which, let’s face it, can sometimes be the hardest thing to do. Also, during the week I do a lot of walking, so this just adds to it. One other thing I have changed is my diet, I have a bowl of cereal in the morning once I get to work. It’s fine, it’s only a couple of hours after I have woken up. But, as soon as I wake up, I grab a protein shake, this fuels me from the get go. Then, like I mentioned my cereal once I get into work. Lunch is generally small, as is dinner. I have reduced my calorie intake to try and help with the fat burning. I really want to get rid of the belly! I am vegetarian as well, but lactose intolerant, so very little in the way of milk and cheeses. The bowl of cereal is the only milk I have in the day.  There are times when my body just cannot handle any milk, at which point I switch it out with Almond milk, just as nice, creamy and smooth, but had a distinct (not almond!) taste to it. I am not a big fan of Soya milk. Anyway, that was the change for the week. Keep it up people!

Here are my workouts for this week:

Core Cardio

I am trying very hard to keep my abs tight, it’s difficult.  I am always forgetting, but it’s fine, I have a new tactic, I just keep punching my abs. This is not the best method as you need your arms to balance during, for example, the squats, or the kicks. But it’s all good fun! With the squats, I don’t know if anyone else has this problem, but sometimes I end up putting more weight on the balls of my feet. To counter this, I put my arms out straight in front of me to change the centre of balance, and this helps me put the weight in my heels. You guys can have that bit of advice for free 🙂

Upper Focus

Ooooooo I am liking this! As I mentioned in my last post, I think my weights were a bit light. I only increased the dumbbells by 1kg, but I did feel it a little. I think I can go up more, but I want to keep the weights at a reasonable level so my posture during the movements is perfect. My advice here is, when doing curls or shoulder presses, bend your knees a little and tilt your hip. THIS WILL ONLY WORK IF YOU HAVE LIGHT WEIGHTS. If you try this with some stonking great weights, you will notice more pressure on your back, and you’ll end up doing yourself an injury. So please be careful!!

Speed 2.0

I still have a certain dislike for this workout. But pushed through! Forced myself to stay away from Tanya in the modified section. I had to slow down my movements just a little, but I did manage to keep up for most of it. So very please with myself. Is it just me, or does anyone else seem to forget to switch to a different move towards the end of the workout, where you are only supposed to do each move for like 5 or 6 seconds. I always get caught out as I am focused on the current move I forget to look at the TV!

Rip’t Circuit

Right, the increase in the weights is certainly evident today. I blitzed them today, it got to a point where I could feel the burn more than usual. Also, you get that funny saliva feeling in the mouth, maybe that was a warning from the body telling me I am about to throw up. Who knows! What I do know is, the increase in weight has really helped me focus my efforts on the muscles being worked out. This no longer felt like a cardio workout. The 1kg increase makes all the difference, you might be able to manage OK in the beginning, but by the end you muscles begin to lose energy and it takes more focus to keep a good posture. I also found myself shouting at myself to keep going. Crazy? Maybe a little…. Oh dear…

Dynamic Core & Speed 2.0

Dynamic core is great fun, especially once you get to hit the back! The back routine is good fun, mixed in with the hip ups, and side plank. You really struggle towards the end, as I am sure, like me most people have weak Obliques, Erector Spinae and Thoracolumbar Fascia muscles. I was urging myself to just continue for a few more minutes. These really are the weakest of the bunch, also with my back issues, I had to pay close attention to this portion of the workout to ensure I got the most out of it. I can safely say I felt the burn all around the core. Another week down. Only 6 to go!

The Weeks workouts:

Day 1 – Core Cardio

See the previous post for the full list of moves (click here)

Day 2 – Upper Focus

See the previous post for the full list of moves (click here)

Day 3 – Speed 2.0

See the previous post for the full list of moves (click here)

Day 4 – Rip’t Circuit

See the previous post for the full list of moves (click here)

Day 5 – Dynamic Core & Speed 2.0

See the previous post for the full list of moves for both workouts (click here)

 

Leave a Reply

